Southern Africa’s Kolmanskop Haunted Ghost Town
Kolmanskop, which is Afrikaans for Coleman’s Head, is a haunted ghost town in a one of Africa’s southern deserts in Namibia.
Situated in the Namin desert and was named after Johnny Coleman who left his ox wagon there during a sandstorm. The village was once a thriving mining village, but now stands as a tourist attraction for anyone wishing to explore this abandoned ghost town.
The discovery of a diamond in 1908 was made by Zacharias Lewala who showed his superior. Realizing the region was rich in diamonds, the German miners settled there and started to exploit the diamond field, declaring it as a “Sperrgebiet“.
The village was built up with German-inspired architecture. The village consisted of a hospital, school, theater, ballroom, power station, ice factory and casino. It also saw the first x-ray station in the southern hemisphere and Africa’s first ever tram.
After World War II, the area was in decline and the diamond field started to deplete. By the 1950s the village was already being neglected and was totally abandoned in 1956.
The properties in the village are now knee-deep in sand, something totally expected after nearly 70 years of being sat uncared for in the African desert.
The ghost town of Kolmanskop is a photographer and Instagrammer’s heaven as it offer some spectacular shots of the buildings that appear to be consumed by the sands.
As with many abandoned villages and ghost towns, the paranormal stories follow and many believe Kolmanskop is haunted. Though the fact it is a ‘ghost town’ may be what fueled the paranormal stories and they may in fact be no ghosts there, similarly to Ohio’s Helltown or the underwater ghost town in Italy.
You can visit the town yourself, but due to it being in a restricted area, a permit must be acquired first.
More Haunted Places >>>